at this time making a 5E Warlock because that an upcoming session, and also I\"m wondering exactly how this specific interaction works:

I, as a Warlock, begin with leather armor. I\"m considering having actually Armor the Shadows as one of my 2 Invocations, for at-will self-Mage Armor (DM is beginning us turn off at third level). However, the description of Mage Armor stipulates that \"You touch a willing creature that isn’t wearing armor, and also a security magical force surrounds it till the assignment ends.\", and additionally that the spell ends if the target dons armor or the assignment is dismissed.

You are watching: Can you use mage armor on yourself

So I\"m wondering: If ns wear leather armor (since I obtain it beginning as a Warlock), have the right to I still use the at-will Mage Armor to have a 13+Dex modifier AC instead of leather armor\"s 11+Dex comprehensive AC?


dnd-5e warlock armor armor-class eldritch-invocations
re-superstructure
enhance this question
follow
edited Aug 23 \"19 at 10:15
\"*\"

V2Blast♦
46k66 gold badges194194 silver- badges283283 bronze badges
asked Sep 22 \"17 at 11:43
\"*\"

EradrazilEradrazil
41311 yellow badge55 silver- badges1010 bronze badges
\\$\\endgroup\\$
include a comment |

2 answers 2


energetic earliest Votes
33
\\$\\begingroup\\$

No, sorry.

You can wear leather armor (AC=11+DEX); if you do you cannot cast mage armor on yourself per the description.

Or friend can actors mage armor on you yourself (AC=13+DEX) and not stay the leather. Naively, this is one unambiguously-superior choice. Two much more AC clues and, due to the fact that the invocation offers you mage armor at will, there\"s no price in spell slots.

Note, though, that it has price you: one invocation. That might be a reasonable opportunity price for your character, but just realize the it\"s not no cost.


re-superstructure
boost this price
monitor
edited Jun 16 \"20 at 10:23
\"*\"

Community♦
1
answer Sep 22 \"17 in ~ 11:57
\"*\"

nitsua60nitsua60
96.7k2424 gold badges391391 silver- badges516516 bronze title
\\$\\endgroup\\$
0
include a comment |
17
\\$\\begingroup\\$
No, the rules for both AC and also Mage Armor perform not permit itPlayer\"s Handbook, part 1, thing 1, web page 14 says:

Some spells and also class functions give girlfriend a different way to calculateyour AC. If you have multiple functions that offer you different ways tocalculate your AC, you select which one come use.

Theoretically a player can have multiple ACs at one time- but you need to specifically select which one to use. Additionally, the assignment Mage Armor itself doesn\"t enable you come wear armor (Player\"s Handbook, component 3, chapter 11, page 256):

You touch a willing creature who isn\"t attract armor, and also aprotective magical force surrounds it until the spell end <...>

So, even if you wanted to have both animal leather armor and also Mage Armor, girlfriend cannot cast the assignment on someone wearing armor. Now, Mage Armor could be cast on a monk or barbaric with Unarmored Defense- but you could still only advantage from one AC at a time.


re-publishing
enhance this prize
monitor
edited Jun 16 \"20 in ~ 10:23
\"*\"

Community♦
1
answer Sep 22 \"17 in ~ 13:05
zanman60zanman60
2,12122 gold badges1010 silver- badges3131 bronze badges
\\$\\endgroup\\$
1
add a comment |

your Answer


Thanks for contributing solution to Role-playing gamings Stack Exchange!

Please be certain to answer the question. Administer details and share your research!

But avoid

Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.Making statements based on opinion; back them up with referrals or an individual experience.

Use MathJax to layout equations. MathJax reference.

To find out more, see our tips on writing good answers.

See more: How Many Atoms Are In Hydrogen Peroxide ? Hydrogen Peroxide


Draft saved
Draft discarded

Sign up or log in in


authorize up making use of Google
authorize up making use of Facebook
sign up using Email and also Password
send

Post together a guest


name
email Required, yet never shown


Post together a guest


name
email

Required, but never shown


write-up Your prize Discard

By click “Post your Answer”, you agree come our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy


Not the price you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged dnd-5e warlock armor armor-class eldritch-invocations or questioning your own question.


Featured on Meta
Visit chat
associated
15
when a Warlock Invocation lets me cast a spell, carry out I likewise have to do it among my Spells Known?
17
do I have to worry around individual armor pieces?
24
deserve to a mundane shield be supplied with Mage Armor?
10
just how do invocations like Armor that Shadows and Eldritch sight work?
5
deserve to I usage an man shield with the Mage Armor spell?
23
execute Bracers of Defense stack v Mage Armor?
10
What creature(s) have the right to a Moon Druid transform right into that would advantage from your armor?
26
deserve to a multiclassed Warlock/Abjuration Wizard with Armor the Shadows repeatedly cast Mage Armor come recharge Arcane Ward?
24
have the right to you advantage from the Defense fighting style while not making use of armor AC calculation?
0
What is the AC that a sprite familiar (from the discover Familiar spell) if that is dismissed to a pocket dimension and also then caused to reappear as an action?
warm Network questions an ext hot concerns

question feed
subscribe to RSS
concern feed To subscribe to this RSS feed, copy and paste this URL right into your RSS reader.


Role-playing gamings
firm
stack Exchange Network
site style / logo design © 2021 stack Exchange Inc; user contributions licensed under cc by-sa. Rev2021.9.17.40233


Role-playing games Stack Exchange works best with JavaScript enabled
\"*\"

her privacy

By click “Accept every cookies”, girlfriend agree ridge Exchange deserve to store cookies on your machine and disclose information in accordance through our Cookie Policy.